The SuperPi for YouTube

I’m totally jazzed about something simple…

Normally I use my Windows machine to download YouTube videos with YouTube Downloader, and then convert them to MP3s if I want free music. But sometimes I keep the videos. They come in handy at work (theres nothing as much fun as watching “Sovereign Citizens” get their asses kicked and TASERed) in a class full of people that all want to see the same thing.

You may have tried relying on internet videos for work, yourself. There’s a YouTube video you want to show, but when you get to your location and you’re in the middle of your demonstration, no one knows the wifi password, the network is wonky, or the video has been pulled by YouTube. There’s nothing more frustrating. Wouldn’t it be nicer to have the video as an MP4 right there on your machine, to keep forever?

I’ve tried loading a few videos on the Rasberry Pi, but it apparently doesn’t handle video well, and doesnt like full size 1080p video. People have made Media Centers out of them, so I’m not sure if I’m doing something wrong.

I’ve noticed If I convert the youtube videos to a smaller size it plays them fine (say 480 instead of 1080p). But then I have to download the video on my Windows machine, convert it, and then upload it to the pi, which is a complicated process since I STILL cant get the damn pi to open it’s storage section to Windows. It’s fine with MAC, but it hates Windows 10. So, I wind up copying crap from Windows to the Mac, and from the Mac to the RasPi, all over WiFi.
The thing I’m excited about, is I just found out Linux comes with a native youtube downloader. It’s run off the command line, but it is simple: you type in the command and then the youtube video address and BOOM, it saves the smaller resolution copy RIGHT TO THE RasPi. Of course, YouTube doesnt LIKE you downloading. They’d rather serve you up ads and crap, and pull videos they dont like. So, they update their system all the time to block the downloader programs. Thankfully the good people behind YTDLer keep up with the changes.

Even more interesting, the command line accepts input from a text file. So you can make a simple text file by copying and pasting YouTube web addresses, and download the videos all at once. 

For some reason people get really mad at this. The main reason I download YouTube is so I can watch stuff later without having to find it again, and without having to rely on the internet. It’s nice having hiking videos on the phone in the hammock in the woods. I explained this whole thing on a hiking board one time. One of the people spoke up and said, “I don’t want my videos downloaded!” Apparently he makes money every time someone watches the video. There’s an old adage – if you don’t want something downloaded, don’t put it on the internet. So, while I understand his distress, it’s not going to stop me downloading his video.

https://vimeo.com/230441579


The Internet – all the Piracy with none of the Scurvy.

Author: theosus1

New to this...will fill this out later.

Leave a Reply

