Lightshow Pi outdoor test!

Friday my daughter and I lugged all the raspberry pi lightshow stuff outside and plugged in 8 strands of christmas lights. Since I didn’t want the neighbors wondering why I was putting up lights in July, even before WalMart, I just laid them on the ground, stretched out in a cone pattern so I could tell the individual strands apart.

The first thing I had to do was dig out my old radio transmitter. I built an FM transmitter from a kit many years ago, before all cars came with AUX plugs and you were stuck with crappy little in-car transmitters for ipods, or worse, the tape deck connector. It’s capable of pushing out a full watt of power, but since I don’t like FCC fines I run it into a dummy load which restricts it to a hundred yards or so. I had to tune it a little and then fix my power supply (which I left outside in the rain after charging my dead lawnmower battery).

Everything worked fine in the house, so we took it all outside and plugged it in and waited for darkness. The transmitter came on and the pi powered up, so I logged into it through my phone and gave it the command to start the show.

The first thing that happens is the pi switches all the lights on for 20 seconds. When the lights all came on, there was a click and everything went dark. I knew I didn’t pop a circuit breaker, because the math didn’t add up. I checked them, I was right, no blown breaker. Then I realized all the outside outlets are wired through a Ground Fault plug in the kitchen. I don’t know why, I guess in case you take a toaster outside in the rain. Evidently they were pulling too much and the GFI plug didn’t like it. So I bypassed it by plugging the extension cord into the den outlet, inside the house.

When everything rebooted, we went outside, logged in, and entered the command. Lights on, then darkness, and the music started. It was awesome. Several neighbors drove in, since I live at the entrance to my neighborhood, I know they had to be thinking, “Vurt da Furk?”

Its okay, you guys will know after Thanksgiving…

In the meantime, you can enjoy my preview video. Yes, I know, the 1812 overture has nothing to do with the annual celebration of pagan tree festivals, BUT – it sounded good and the lights responded well.

Here is a little preview:

Author: theosus1

New to this...will fill this out later.

1 thought on “Lightshow Pi outdoor test!”

Leave a Reply

