It’s finally happened… almost. maybe.

A couple of years ago I started writing a hiking/backpacking book, based on my initial forays into the wilderness. Mainly it was a chance to tell other people “hey, dumbass, don’t do _____”. Most hiking books seem to be full of helpful hints about what you should do, things that the author  found worked for him/her.

I took a different approach, saying “Hey, here’s where I screwed up”, and giving several options that I didn’t know about. I intended on trying to get it published, but that is the part of writing that sucks. It doesn’t take much to write a book.

It takes a lot to find someone to say, “This book isn’t total shit and we might take a chance on you”. Which is why Blogs are so popular… blogs give regular people the opportunity to be authors, even though if you put most blogs in front of publishers, we’d get rejection letters and be sent home to drown our sorrows in alcohol.

BUT – thanks to Amazon and CreateSpace, my hiking book will soon see the light of day. CreateSpace and Kindle seem to be about as big a pain in the butt as anything else. First you have to upload your book, then there are a LOT of preview steps, then you proof your book. I ordered a printed copy and marked it all up with a pen. It’s amazing what you see in print that you gloss over on the screen. The I re-typed it, re-submitted it, and finally, boom, it was done.

For some damn reason though, Kindle is a separate system and you have to re-do a bunch of steps to go from “dead tree version” to “electronic version”. I’m not sure why, but you do.

So, I’m waiting on “How Not to Backpack” to be approved, but once it is, you’ll be able to buy my stuff in the Amazon and Kindle e-store.

Author: theosus1

New to this...will fill this out later.

Leave a Reply

