Bear Bagging for dummies.

Ok I have been working some evening shifts at work, which means I have a lot of time around the house staring at the walls and doing nothing. The den has been taken over by present-wrapping central, so thanks to the fact that everything doesn’t get here at once from Amazon and various other companies, from the Friday after Thanksgiving up until around three or four days before X-Mass – the place looks like it would be right at home on an episode of hoarders.

And don’t give me crap about “shopping locally”. If there was an REI or Ann Taylor Loft downtown, we would go there. Plus – the UPS and FedEx people come six or seven times between Thanksgiving and christmas. Its like Santa coming again and again!

So, I’m puttering around the house in my underwear at noon, and remember my prior commitment to making a bear bag video. You may or may not have seen my last bear bag video… I apologize it was on youtube, but that’s where I was putting my stuff before I found out the Vimeo is SO much better. So, if you haven’t seen it, forget it. It never happened.

I switched to the UrSack, because I got tired of several problems with “normal” bear bag hanging. I also didn’t want to switch to a bear canister, because they are heavy and rigid and take up a crap-ton of space in the backpack. So – I made a NEW video (on Vimeo, Yay!) where I compare and contrast the old system. It is meant to be a parody… I didn’t really almost hit myself in the head or get the bag stuck.

It’s not the best acting, but hey, it beats a Kevin Bacon movie:

Hope you enjoy it. I’m not connected with the company in any way, but after hiking with several people who use the UrSack, I convinced myself that it was the way to go if I intend to stick with taking these jaunts into the woods. While I’m wandering around looking for 4″ limbs 20-25 feet off the ground and untangling my rope, they’re making two knots and settling down for the evening.

The Bear Bag thing came up in Facebook again today. Someone asked whether or not Bear Canisters were a good idea, which prompted a lively discussion. In the same group, someone asked for advice on research on how to hike the Appalachian Trail.

This question prompted the best response ever:

Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 12.45.45 PM

Author: theosus1

New to this...will fill this out later.

Leave a Reply

