Hiking with the noobs…sort of.

Well it’s fall, and officially it became time for one of our meetup group’s members to host “backpacking 101”. I’ve been on about every one of these since my first trip back in 2012. He’s gracious enough to allow alumni to return and go on the trip as well, and this time there were five of us that had been a time or two. Because the group had gotten so large (20 at one point – but dropped to 14 by the morning of the trip), Mark the group leader decided to split us up. The alumni decided “hey we’ll all go a new way and meet at the camp site”. Thus the exploration of hitherto unknown areas of P-Town began.

 

True wordpress style, my uploaded pictures are all out of order, so instead of a cohesive story with pictures I just have random pictures interspersed with my tale. So look at the pictures and enjoy, then read the story…

 

All of us at Camp
All of us at Camp in the morning, just after the rain stopped.

The first step was the drive. It was early morning and still not fully light when we all met at our favorite spot, the parking lot of a large chain store, which allows us to use their parking lot for nights on end, as long as we park waco in the back. People divvied up their cars, and this time I wound up driving alone, because I planned to take a side trip on the way out.

 

Greenland creek falls
Greenland creek falls. Someone else took this photo. I’m the little blob sitting on the big rock under the first falls, upper left corner of the picture. 

I forgot how long and boring the trip can be alone, but was soon trying to keep up with Jason, in front of me with the rest of the Alumni Group. Jason liked driving a few MPH faster than I normally do, and I was trying to keep up and yet scared of getting a ticket. Within ten miles of getting on the interstate they hit McDonalds.

Jason at Greenland Creek (I'm photobombing on the rock)
Jason at Greenland Creek (I’m photobombing on the rock)

Long drives in big groups are often like this. Someone always needs to pee, get gas, or get coffee, or feed some other addiction, or get breakfast because they were running late. Usually with the BP101 crowd we stop at LEAST three times on the way there. I was glad to have my own car. I bypassed mcDonalds and soon the speed demon caught up to me and we were off to the races again.

ptowncomplete87
Last stop to view the woods before the car

Finally at Panthertown (after a stop at SubWay – because the rest of the Alumns didn’t know the plan Kim and I had come up with excluded subway and they should have BROUGHT their first day’s lunch) we got parked and unloaded. Panthertown has no real parking lot. Its a wide dirt road and you park on the shoulder wherever you can find a space. I wound up at the entrance, right off the side of the road. It didn’t bother me much, since the “out” trail would put me out by the car.

ptowncomplete86
Cut through the woods for the power line

We headed off, the six of us. Me (Taco), Kim (Sunshine), Jason (?), Thomas (Cowboy), Rudy (Chef) and Bob (Rainfly) went exploring some areas that Rudy and Kim had done, but I had never seen. We first went up towards Warden’s falls, but missed a turn somewhere. We wound up skipping it, and then going over to Jawbone falls. After pushing through the break in the trees and going down hill, we were stuck with the idea of going across a small stream and then downstream to the waterfall. Thankfully it was only around calf-deep. Sunshine at first said “no no no – this is NOT fun, I’m not doing this”, but since everyone else was already halfway across the creek, she gave in to the mutiny and headed off. I followed, being the slower and clumsier one on the trip. I figured, no reason to take out everyone when I fall.

ptowncomplete84
Fall comes early at high elevation
ptowncomplete83
Leaning back resting while waiting on the Greenland Creek falls group to finish.

Jawbone falls was very nice. It was about 40 feet high, but mainly a slide, and it didn’t take up the whole rock face, so we crossed the stream above the falls, and then worked our way down the angled face of it. Finally at the bottom, we crossed the stream again the other way, which was just over knee deep (but I didn’t get my kilt wet!) and the water was really sluggish, so there was very little current.

ptowncomplete82
Standing up on Greenland Creek Falls
ptowncomplete81
View from Under Greenland Creek Falls

After a brief stop to put shoes back on, we headed down the path to the next falls, but I don’t know their names off hand. It was pretty, but not as impressive from the top. It was mainly a low slide, tumble over a jumble of rocks, more like a rapids than a true falls, and went on around the corner out of sight. After that it was up the blackrock mountain trail.

ptowncomplete80
Looking up from the big rock on the second level of the falls.

Oh, I forgot to mention something. During some of this, it was RAINING. It would come and go in fits and starts, and we put on and took off our rain gear once. There’s a point when you realize that you will get completely soaked, and grab the rain coat. Hiking in slight rain is okay, because under the raincoat you’ll sweat just as much as you would get wet, but there come a point where you just don’t want to be soaked and cold, and finally get the rain gear out.

ptowncomplete79
Looking down stream from the big rock.

We passed a real, live hornet’s nest on the way up the blackjack trail. I’d never seen a real one hanging in the trees, it was interesting to look at from a distance, and thankfully it was raining, so the hornets were mostly inside, instead of trying to chase us away.

ptowncomplete78
The falls from in the middle of the stream

One down from Blackrock and onto Carlton’s way, which was a twisting, turning, near-bushwacking trail in places, we made our way to the shelter area. The shelter is in the midst of a large, open area, and looks like the tin roof attic section of an old house or barn, with no ends. Its a very weird structure to come upon in the middle of nowhere. It was unfortunately occupied for the night. There were no people, but there was gear everywhere.

ptowncomplete76
Big Green/Macs Gap intersection creek crossing. Very cold to stand in and try to take pics. I held the camera right above the waterline. Creek is only about fifteen feet wide and at most 2 feet deep here. 

Chef Rudy knew of another site a few hundred yards down the trail, so we headed off and began setting up camp, intending to ditch our stuff and go exploring. Someone had a cell phone with service, and they texted the 101 group. By the time our camp was set up and a water run to the creek completed, the other 8 people showed up and started picking out spots. Mark (the Hobbit) had brought his manual chainsaw, and we cut down a dead tree. Me and jason were in charge of lumberjack duties, And dropped it right where we wanted to, right between two other trees. It hit the ground and broke into several sections. Chef Rudy got a slow-mo video of it which was really awesome. I’ll share it if he posts it somewhere.

ptowncomplete75
Lots of yellow everywhere

After spending a good deal of effort moving my bear bag (because someone chose to camp under it), I was met with howls of derisive laughter, after which I was asked to hoist up around 80 pounds of food and cooking gear (being sarcastic, but it WAS heavy). I finally gave up and found the only limb capable of holding our load, which was sort of low, but I just went with it.

ptowncomplete74
Woods on the way out down Big Green Trail

After a snack, and watching the second group set up camp, one of our group figured out he had left his rainfly at home because he brought the wrong tent. I had enough room when I spread my hammock tarp out, so I let him camp under me. His tent stuck out just a little, and he threw a poncho over the end. Some of the group decided to go ahead and eat before the night hike. Chef Rudy made Pad Thai in the woods, from scratch, including scrambling an egg after cracking it one handed on his knee, and dicing garlic. He also cooked a bacon-wrapped filet mignon that Kim Sunshine had brought with her. As I had forgotten my steak, a bite of hers was pretty tasty.

ptowncomplete73
Woods along Big Green ridge line

The next event, which about 8 of us participated in was the hike up Big Green Mountain for the sunset. It turned out to be very nice. Big Green is a pain to walk up, as you have to go up around 300 feet up the side on a twisting, turning, muddy path, and then continue up an incline and finally out onto the edge of the Great Wall. I felt a little like I was in “A Game of Thrones”, without the snow.

ptowncomplete72
Hiking down from Big Green Mountain

The group settled down and watched the sun set, and then walked back in the deepening darkness, only to find out some had forgotten their headlamps. We called out obstacles such as mud and roots and stumps, and everyone made it back safely. After retrieving the food, it was time for supper, a fire and bed. I used my Snow Peak canister stove this time, instead of my alcohol stove. It was different, easier, but I still like the fancy feast stove.

ptowncomplete70
Very yellow in the morning sun.

Mercifully, the rain waited until after bedtime, but the group of “Christian” students down at the shelter whooped and hollered and played music like a drunken spring break group until around midnight. Finally the rain started and they quieted down. I woke up once at 1:30 to a good hard, but straight down, rain, and went back to sleep. I slept pretty well until a surprising 7am. It was still raining, and I lay around until 8am and finally decided someone had to get the group up.

 

ptowncomplete68
Leaving Camp

I collected our food, and distributed it to the masses like some campground “meal on wheels” vendor, and went back to pack up my stuff. With no shelter, cooking and eating was going to be tough, so I packed my pack first, leaving only my rainfly tarp out. I stretched it out as flat as I could, leaving the rain to run off the corners, and my activities woke Rainfly Bob from his tent. Several of us cooked breakfast under the Tarp and hung around waiting for the rest of the group to finish packing.

ptowncomplete67
Packing up in the rain is always fun.
ptowncomplete66
Rainy morning in camp

It was at this point that we all decided to mostly stick together. The original plan was to split up again and hike different directions, but I think the rain may have hampered us a little bit. We walked out along Big Green trail and up the mountain again, this time with packs on. That was quite an experience but its always nice to do that AFTER doing it the night before, otherwise you have no idea when it will end, its just one long slog up the side of a damn hill. The core of the alums somehow wound up out front, Me, Rainfly, Jason, Cowboy and Chef. I’m not sure where Sunshine went, I never saw her again.

ptowncomplete65
Cowboy stretches a little after a long wet night.
ptowncomplete64
Carrying out wet tents is never fun.

Our group in front headed on down and across the ridge to Greenland Creek trail, and dropped packs at the campsite near the falls. Chef Rudy stayed behind, intending to head on back to the car by himself. I started ahead of the other four, figuring I would meet everyone else at the falls. Thomas, Jason, and Rob caught up with me and passed me, as I was struggling with mud in my open-sided shoes. Greenland Creek trail will ruin shoes… which is usually why I go barefoot down this one.

ptowncomplete63
Wet morning in the TarpTents

I finally made it to the end and the falls were beautiful, and not running too hard. Chef Rudy had told me about a path up to the top of the falls. The falls are around 40 feet high I guess, from the main trail to the top. I found the side trail and started up, and it was steep. Before long it was REALLY steep. Even though I was in the trees and not out on rocks, I was still handholding and scrambling up. Finally I decided it was too high and too steep, when I was almost level with the top of the falls. I turned around to come down.

ptowncomplete62
“Chef” Rudy makes Pad Thai in the woods.

Have you ever gone up a ladder to the roof to fix something? Its a little scary, but then you make it to the roof, fix whatever, and turn around to come down. Now it’s REALLY scary. I was thinking, “how the HELL do I get down? Where is the trail, did it fall off the side of the cliff while I was contemplating whether to go up?” Needless to say, I made it down, as I’m not typing this in the woods. But it took me about twice as long to go down as it did to go up.

ptowncomplete61
Mark eyes the dead trees, maybe?

Now normally, I don’t have to crap in the woods on an overnight. But halfway up that trail I really started to feel sort of an urge. Thankfully I didn’t have to go on the side of that hill, and by the time I got down, the urge was gone all together. Back to normal hiking mode.

ptowncomplete60
Wait, why is no one making fire?

I decided to try and make it up as close to the underside of the waterfall as I could. I’d done it once before, and was pretty sure of the route. It was easier than I had remembered, even though I was wearing shoes. I took it very slow and deliberately. There’s one section where you have to cross the flat section of the rock, and it can get slippery. I made it up to the falls and was rewarded with a great view and a roaring white noise and cold mist.

ptowncomplete59
Backpacking: Spending lots of money in an effort to emulate being homeless for a night or two.

The other guys motioned that they were going back, and I waved them off. I worked my way back down and back to the little campsite we were using as a base for Greenland Creek falls. When I got back, the rest of them were moving on, and Mark, Lorenzo and Ann were just arriving. Mark reported that everyone else had headed back to the cars, and he wanted to show Lorenzo and Ann the falls. I told him I would wait, and they took off.

ptowncomplete58
Fighting the Dome Tent into submission
ptowncomplete57
Ann eyes those tent poles suspiciously.

I took advantage of the break, and sat down to eat a little. I still had food left in my pack, why not eat something? I wish I had a nice hot drink at that point, but although I had my stove, I was fresh out of drink mix of any sort. My bad. I reorganized a few things and found my dry socks from the previous day, and made sure I could find my keys and my wallet. I went through my pictures from the hike and deleted the crappy ones, and laid my head back for a nap against my pack, leaning against the tree. Before long Mark, Ann and Zo came back, and we walked on out, ending our hike.

ptowncomplete56
Picking out spots
ptowncomplete55
Rudy’s ingredients set out, fresh garlic is chopped. Wait, what? Did I mention that Chef has a 35 liter pack that holds his entire trip supplies, and weighs around 15 pounds? No? That’s because crap like that seriously pisses me off. Damn ultra lighters.
ptowncomplete54
Tarp tent and hammock area
ptowncomplete53
Making camp with Jason and Bob “Rainfly”
ptowncomplete52
My home away from home, before Rainfly decided to sub-let and sleep under me. I’m just glad I didn’t have to get up at 3 am and pee. Oh – and the ENO Twilight’s worked AWESOME in the hammock. I could see it in the trees from 50 yards away.
ptowncomplete51
Kim “Sunshine” after the mutiny, looking perplexed about where to go. Or maybe she’s waiting until we leave so she could pee.
ptowncomplete50
On the trail to camp after the trip down Carlton’s way.
ptowncomplete49
My first view of a real honey’s nest, in the woods, with hornets still hanging around. A scary thing…
ptowncomplete48
Pretty fall colors.
ptowncomplete46
Standing on some little falls with Sunshine, Chef, Cowboy, Jason, and Rainfly. Downstream of Jawbone… not sure the name.
ptowncomplete45
Downstream on the falls.
ptowncomplete44
Looking back up Jawbone falls. Yes, we walked down that.
ptowncomplete43
Looking back up Jawbone as we walked down.
ptowncomplete42
The view from on top of Jawbone falls. we had to get down to the bottom and across the creek.
ptowncomplete40
Little cascade of about 2 feet, on Jawbone falls
ptowncomplete39
Jason takes pictures and Sunshine moves on.
ptowncomplete37
First power line crossing. Very pretty fall colors in effect
ptowncomplete36
Enjoying the view and the free electromagnetic radiation from Duke Power
on the trail
on the trail
Leaving the packed parking area
Leaving the packed parking area
Jason makes a plan
Jason makes a plan
Walking down the falls.
Walking down the falls.
In the backside of nowhere above Jawbone falls.
In the backside of nowhere above Jawbone falls.
sitting around the fire
sitting around the fire
me cooking my food at night
me cooking my food at night

Just sitting around relaxed

Me, waiting on the sunset

Just behind the mountain
Just behind the mountain
Getting darker
Getting darker
Me, waiting on the sunset
Great leaf pic
Great leaf pic
Hiking onward
Hiking onward
Coming down at night from the wall
Coming down at night from the wall
Jim enjoys the sunset
Jim enjoys the sunset
Katelyn on the Wall
Katelyn on the Wall

ptowncomplete17

Little Green Lunch
Little Green Lunch
Clouds rolling in on Little Green
Clouds rolling in on Little Green
The Walking Blueberry on Little Green
The Walking Blueberry on Little Green

ptowncomplete11

Mark on top of Schoolhouse Falls
Mark on top of Schoolhouse Falls
Joe, Jim, and Katelyn
Joe, Jim, and Katelyn
Cutting down a dead tree for some firewood.
Cutting down a dead tree for some firewood.
Waiting on the sunset.
Waiting on the sunset.
On the Great Wall - feeling like the Night's Watch
On the Great Wall – feeling like the Night’s Watch
Heading to Jawbone
Heading to Jawbone
The Great Wall
The Great Wall
Author: theosus1

New to this...will fill this out later.

Leave a Reply

