Hiking…again.

So I attended our Meetup group’s twice yearly Newbie Hiker Orientation yesterday. We had a lot of fun, and it’s always nice to meet new people who someday might want to sign up for one of my hikes. I remember sitting in those chairs before my own first hike thinking, “What have I gotten myself into?”

It’s interesting to meet them and get to know them, and help in molding the fragile minds of new hikers. Maybe I can bend a few of them towards hammocks or even *gasp* Geocaching! On the other side of the coin, after hiking with some people it’s nice to know who Shouldn’t go on future trips with me, too. There are trips I’ve done where someone has warned me, “You do NOT want him on the trip! He drinks and smokes the whole trip and mooches off everyone!”

So we had a good four hour discussion of backpacking do’s and dont’s (my iMac seriously just corrected “dont’s” to “doughnuts”. It really understands me), which goes surprisingly fast. I’m really looking forward to tromping through the woods when the leaves start to turn.

I haven’t been anywhere in a few months, so I started looking back at my old stuff, and thought it would be nice to make a movie out of my picture collections. I’ve done it a lot for work, and even for a few family trips. Unfortunately, my old PC is aging badly, and Adobe Premiere doesn’t work as well as it used to. I’m thinking about trying to dual-load OS’ on my iMac, so I can run windows (and thus all my adobe stuff), but that seems like a real pain in the butt. I’d rather just build an entirely new windows machine from the ground up.

So – stuck without a movie program for now on the old system, I had to learn to use something new. Yeah, that always sucks. iMac comes with something called iMovie. At first I threw my hands up and said “I’ll just buy something”. Yeah, okay. The one I want for making movies, the one that’s like Premiere that is full of options and all the stuff I’m used to? It’s $299. I don’t think so.

So, back to iMovie. It wasn’t long before I found some youtube videos showing me how to work it. I always like it when I’m learning new computer skills from ten year old boys whose voices haven’t broken yet. But, thanks to Lance and Skylar, I could at least start the damn iMovie program and load a few videos. Turns out, it was a lot like a very dumbed-down version of premiere. It can’t do some things nearly as well, and the more advanced stuff is hidden from the average idiot. Like a lot of low-end software it tries to make a lot of decisions for you. However, after getting the hang of it, it is pretty straightforward to make a simple movie. Drop photo in line, stretch to desired length of time, and adjust effects. Drop in music, and click “share”. I’m used to doing MORE work on it to get it to look right, but so far I’m happy with the limited stuff I have figure out how to do.

So I played around with it and created my FIRST iMovie movie and loaded it to Vimeo.

If you’ve never used Vimeo, it’s like a more “artsy” youtube, for the most part. The resolution seems to be better and you aren’t just killed with ads. I’m sure they are out there, but so far I haven’t run into any twerking or cat videos on the site.

So – I uploaded my first video yesterday. Sorry if you hate Dash Berlin, but I like him, and I made the video, so it’s his music in the background. I made another video – with some music that’s easier on the ears to the average person, but I can’t upload it until next week (apparently I have a weekly 500MB upload limit since I don’t pay for the site).

Here it is:

hiking 2012 from Markus Amoungus on Vimeo.

Or look up the original at: http://vimeo.com/106034656

The first two minutes are in Panthertown Valley in North Carolina, and most of the shots in the last 20 seconds are of the same place. It was my first time hiking, ever, so this being my first iMovie video about hiking, that makes sense.

I have learned a few things. First of all, 11 year old children have lots of free time on their hands, and if I want to learn something new, don’t be afraid to watch their youtube videos on computer stuff. Second, I really need to learn how to use this new movie thing to its full potential. The movies it outputs are generally better quality than adobe (I’m not hating on adobe, I’m using an old version that’s been around for years. I like it, but side by side the movies just are NOT the same – the quality coming out of iMovie is much better). Third, I need to make sure I take plenty of video while hiking. Pictures are fun, but video is where it’s at.

Author: theosus1

New to this...will fill this out later.

Leave a Reply

