Get your strap on!

Not THAT kind of strap on, you perv…

I made some new hammock straps.

So I have been using my Hennessy Hammock tree straps for a couple of years now. They are fine straps but a little short, they don’t go around some of the bigger trees that I have been using in the woods, because they are only four feet long.

On my last camping trip, I had one strap that went around most of the tree, and on the other tree it was long enough to go around once, but not twice. The toggle came loose while I was hanging everything, so I had to find an improvement.

The first thing was learning an easy little knot called the “marlin spike hitch” that secures the toggle in the strap.

You can google it if you want, there are lots of youtube videos.

The second thing to do was come up with a new strap. Straps are expensive, but really they are pretty simple things: Some polyester webbing with a loop on each end. JoAnn fabric stores has the webbing for $2.29 a yard… in several colors. I got orange because green and grey were $2.79 a yard, and since my hammock is orange, it’s not like I’m hiding in the woods anyway.

I folded a loop in the end and turned the end under so I had about 2.5 inches of three layers, and sewed the loops shut on the sewing machine. After doing the first two, I started getting pretty good at it. The stitching is ugly, but it works. I double stitched the whole thing, and the bar tacked the end where the loop opens (bar tacking is essentially going back and forth several times with wider and wider stitches – it makes a thick bar looking stitch).

So – I have my new straps. I made them nine feet long, which is plenty to go around big trees, even twice on some trees, with enough slack on one end to tie the spike hitch.

Surprisingly, they hold my ass up without a problem. The current practice in hammocking is 2″ straps. I learned that after making these, but going around the tree twice should be plenty, after all, 1 plus 1 is 2… and I couldn’t find 2″ nylon webbing. I know someone out there has to sell “seat belt” looking webbing, but I can’t find it. Maybe I just need to go to the junkyard and find a bashed up new car and cut the seat belts out.

Hammock straps with some blood on them would raise some questions, though. I don’t think I want to be scrutinized that way.

 

Author: theosus1

New to this...will fill this out later.

Leave a Reply

