IPhone fun with infrared.

20110523-062727.jpg

I finally got it working. I have been playing around with an iPhone app called dslr.bot. It’s purpose is to remote control my canon camera, but it needs an infrared source, like on the front of any modern remote. The above device consists of two IR emitters, faced back to back. Without going into too much electronics, the iPhone headphone jack cannot send out the IR signals with just one, each diode puts out half the signal. I screwed it up the first time, and finally got around to rebuilding it. So, now it works. This little thing goes in the camera bag, replacing a huge button thing with ten feet of wire attached. Since I have my iPhone at all times any way, why not. I’m thinking lightning photography too. I could sit in the relative safety of the car, and remote the camera. But then again, why go?
It is ugly… I need to try and make one more, and pot it inside something. A little chapstick cap full of epoxy might hold it all together. My eyes aren’t what they used to be. My nearsightedness used to be bad enough I could build tiny things. Any more I find myself trying to take off my glasses so I can see close, only to find they are already off.
If someone knows of a good tv remote app, it would be fun to be able to change the channel on TVs in restaurants. They always have sports of the news channels with stock crap at the bottom. Am I the only nerd that would rather see the history channel?

Author: theosus1

New to this...will fill this out later.

Leave a Reply

